Welcome to Clarendon County Fire Rescue

Welcome to Clarendon County Fire Rescue

Thank you for your interest in Clarendon County Fire Rescue.  Clarendon County Fire Rescue was created on July 1, 2020, by joining Clarendon County Fire Department (Established 1977) and McLeod Health Clarendon Emergency Medical Services. 

Our department family includes a diverse group of over 150 men and women working together to serve the citizens of Clarendon County and those traveling through.

Our department provides coverage for 696 square miles, of which 607 square miles is land and 89 square miles is water, which has been designated a Fire Safe Community through South Carolina State Fire.  Seventeen (17) stations are strategically located throughout the county, protecting roughly 35,000 citizens with fire and injury prevention, fire suppression, emergency medical service transportation, medical first responder, rescue, water rescue, and hazmat services, with the exception of Manning City. Our department has on-staff medical control who has grown up and responds in our department and an award-winning Community Paramedic Program which was the first fire-based Community Paramedic Program in the state of South Carolina.  Clarendon County Fire Rescue provides Emergency Medical Services for Manning City residents and mutual aid services upon request. Four (4) of our seventeen (17) stations are staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week by personnel who work on shifts of 24 hours on duty and 72 hours off-duty between shifts.  Our department has a core group of volunteer responders of whom which respond to fire, rescue, and medical incidents, resulting in big savings for taxpayers.

Our unselfish, family-oriented teamwork of volunteer and career members, past and present, has allowed our department to develop into what our department is today.  I encourage you to stop by one of our stations and see for yourself.  Look for us in our community when you are out on weekdays and weekends preforming your daily activities.

Michael A. Johnson
Chief of Department